NFL Awards: Patrick Willis makes Hall of Fame, McCaffrey wins Offensive Player of the Year

LAS VEGAS (KRON) — The NFL had its awards ceremony on Thursday, and a pair of 49ers received prestigious honors. Former San Francisco linebacker Patrick Willis was named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, and running back Christian McCaffrey was named the NFL Offensive Player of the Year.

Willis had an eight-year career with the 49ers in which he made seven Pro Bowls, five All-Pro teams and was named the Defensive Rookie of the Year in 2007.

He was one of seven former players to make the Hall of Fame on Thursday. The others are Julius Peppers, Dwight Freeney, Devin Hester, Andre Johnson, Randy Gradishar and Steve McMichael.

McCaffrey won the league’s Offensive Player of the Year award after he gained 2,023 yards from scrimmage and scored 21 touchdowns this season. It was his first full year as a 49er after he came over from the Carolina Panthers in a midseason trade in 2022.

McCaffrey and Brock Purdy were both finalists for the league MVP award, which was won by Baltimore Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button