Top 10: West Indies Cricketers with Most Matches in IPL – CricIndeed

The modern-day West Indies cricketers are a complete T20 package that every franchise wants to have in their ranks. And the Indian Premier League (IPL) is incomplete without the presence of these Caribbean players, isn’t it?

Over the years, the Windies players have entertained fans with their explosive performances with the bat and bowl. The likes of Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, and Dwayne Bravo left their mark on the league’s history in numerous appearances.

In this article, we’ll look at the top 10 West Indies cricketers who have played the most matches in the IPL.

West Indies Cricketers with Most Matches in IPL

Player Matches Runs Wickets
Kieron Pollard 189 3412 69
Sunil Narine 162 1046 163
Dwayne Bravo 161 1560 183
Chris Gayle 142 4965 18
Andre Russell 112 2262 96
Dwayne Smith 91 2385 26
Nicholas Pooran 62 1270
Shimron Hetmyer 60 1130
Jason Holder 46 259 53
Lendl Simmons 29 1079 1

Key Insights

189: Kieron Pollard played an astounding 189 matches for the Mumbai Indians from 2010 to 2022. Pollard’s match appearances are the most by a West Indies player in the IPL.

10: The Universe Boss Chris Gayle is among the top 10 run scorers, while Dwayne Bravo and Sunil Narine make it the top 10 wicket takers in the league’s history.

175: The league witnessed the Gayle Storm at Chinnaswamy Stadium in 2013, as he racked up an unbeaten 175 runs against the Pune Warriors. With that, Gayle became only the 2nd player to score 150+ runs in an innings in the IPL. Moreover, he holds the record for the highest individual score in the tournament.

1: Chris Gayle is the sole player to win the orange cap in back-to-back editions. He achieved this extraordinary feat in 2011 and 2012 by topping the run charts.

100: Over 5 players from the West Indies have featured in 100 or more matches in the IPL.

32: Dwayne Bravo became the first bowler to pick up 30+ wickets in a single season. Bravo was in sublime form in 2013 when he scalped 32 wickets — the joint-most wickets in an IPL season. Moreover, he is one of the bowlers to win the purple cap twice (in 2013 and 2015) in the tournament.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button